That is a completely different issue as the whois is essentially correct and the address fulfills all policy requirements. The availability and use of such addresses may also have legitimate purposes.Scott, when I say fake email for WHOIS, most people generally understand it to mean a junk email address, a "mailinator" or "yopmail" address, or a newly created email address that will never be used again. The "verification" process is straightforward and quickly learned by anyone that doesn't understand, and no part of the process forces people to use an e-mail address that they actively use. At this point in time most Internet users understand the concept of a junk email address.
Verification may be impossible. Validation on the other hand is possible. If you do not like the policy as it stands, propose an alternative solution. Ideally also tell us who will pay for it.The fact that it happened twice, three, and ten years ago does not change the daily reality that this information is not verified, even when reported through a registrar's abuse channels. I'm going to continue stating that this policy is a joke until the reality of the bad state of WHOIS data changes, and then I will change my mind based on the evidence.
On Tue, Feb 14, 2017 at 1:56 PM, Hollenbeck, Scott <shollenbeck@verisign.com> wrote:
From: allison nixon [mailto:elsakoo@gmail.com]
Sent: Tuesday, February 14, 2017 1:35 PM
To: Hollenbeck, Scott <shollenbeck@verisign.com>
Cc: vgreimann@key-systems.net; gnso-rds-pdp-wg@icann.org
Subject: [EXTERNAL] Re: [gnso-rds-pdp-wg] Dangers of public whois
>>[SAH] Actually, there *are* requirements to provide valid data and for registrars to perform validation processing:
How do you expect toothless policy to work *on the Internet*? Seriously?
Yes, seriously. Registrars who do not implement the policy are subject to having their accreditation revoked. ICANN has, in fact, revoked or suspended accreditations. Here are two examples:
https://www.icann.org/news/
announcement-2-2007-03-16-en
https://www.icann.org/en/
system/files/correspondence/ serad-to-patel-2-18jul14-en.
worst that can happen when you put in fake whois data is that your domain gets reported, you change "123 fake st" to "124 fake st", and your registrar is satisfied because what more can they possibly do. I know this because I went through this with an old sinkhole domain. It's a total joke. Let's not pretend it's anything more than that.
Not true. A fake email address, for example, can be detected easily when email sent to it (one of the registrar’s validation requirements) gets bounced back. The worst that can happen is that your domain gets put into some non-operational state (“suspend the registration” per the RAA).
Scott
--
_________________________________
Note to self: Pillage BEFORE burning.
-- Bei weiteren Fragen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung. Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Volker A. Greimann - Rechtsabteilung - Key-Systems GmbH Im Oberen Werk 1 66386 St. Ingbert Tel.: +49 (0) 6894 - 9396 901 Fax.: +49 (0) 6894 - 9396 851 Email: vgreimann@key-systems.net Web: www.key-systems.net / www.RRPproxy.net www.domaindiscount24.com / www.BrandShelter.com Folgen Sie uns bei Twitter oder werden Sie unser Fan bei Facebook: www.facebook.com/KeySystems www.twitter.com/key_systems Geschäftsführer: Alexander Siffrin Handelsregister Nr.: HR B 18835 - Saarbruecken Umsatzsteuer ID.: DE211006534 Member of the KEYDRIVE GROUP www.keydrive.lu Der Inhalt dieser Nachricht ist vertraulich und nur für den angegebenen Empfänger bestimmt. Jede Form der Kenntnisgabe, Veröffentlichung oder Weitergabe an Dritte durch den Empfänger ist unzulässig. Sollte diese Nachricht nicht für Sie bestimmt sein, so bitten wir Sie, sich mit uns per E-Mail oder telefonisch in Verbindung zu setzen. -------------------------------------------- Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. Best regards, Volker A. Greimann - legal department - Key-Systems GmbH Im Oberen Werk 1 66386 St. Ingbert Tel.: +49 (0) 6894 - 9396 901 Fax.: +49 (0) 6894 - 9396 851 Email: vgreimann@key-systems.net Web: www.key-systems.net / www.RRPproxy.net www.domaindiscount24.com / www.BrandShelter.com Follow us on Twitter or join our fan community on Facebook and stay updated: www.facebook.com/KeySystems www.twitter.com/key_systems CEO: Alexander Siffrin Registration No.: HR B 18835 - Saarbruecken V.A.T. ID.: DE211006534 Member of the KEYDRIVE GROUP www.keydrive.lu This e-mail and its attachments is intended only for the person to whom it is addressed. Furthermore it is not permitted to publish any content of this email. You must not use, disclose, copy, print or rely on this e-mail. If an addressing or transmission error has misdirected this e-mail, kindly notify the author by replying to this e-mail or contacting us by telephone.