A quick review of the article (below) - specifically some of the comments - seem to indicate that a Network solutions name server might have been used. If that is the case, then - the advert that was displayed is actually expected. http://www.techcrunch.com/2008/04/08/network-solutions-hijacking-unassigned-... Why - well, if you outsource your NS and don't configure your DNS properly (ie. add a wildcard entry) - then you could get adds. i checked the privaterra.org domain i have registered with tucows. As I use their DNS services , and don't have a wildcard entry setup, well, typing in http://does_not_exist.privaterra.org does send you to a ad page. Expected - yes. So, from my perspective, the news network solutions "hijacking" sites - might not technically be correct. Instead, it could be an issue of a registrant not being familiar with the consequences of an outsourced NS server. Recommend - ALS's and ICANN should develop materials, and guides to improve understand about domain name registration.. regards Robert On 9-Apr-08, at 12:08 PM, Danny Younger wrote:
This is sickening and appalling behavior by NetSol. Internet names and numbers are not owned but are in the public trust. Network Solutions is acting as if these subdomains are their own private property. This program is the registrar equivalent of VeriSign's Sitefinder debacle.
__________________________________________________ Do You Yahoo!? Tired of spam? Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around http://mail.yahoo.com
_______________________________________________ ALAC mailing list ALAC@atlarge-lists.icann.org http://atlarge-lists.icann.org/mailman/listinfo/alac_atlarge-lists.icann.org
At-Large Official Site: http://atlarge.icann.org