Counter example "Joe" has a web site which is used to abuse my trademark. I can't contact Joe because his thin data is incorrect or hidden (I don't know that Joe is actually Joe.). I then contact the registrar. They follow up with the privacy proxy service if needed. Hopefully all this happens quickly and the cease and desist message is actually delivered. In actual practice, there is a noteworthy difference in effectiveness if we have to go through the registrar, compared to us contacting directly. If the registrar isn't responsive, then I may have to pressure ICANN to enforce the registrar contract, which has its own issues. In either case, your abuse of my trademark is probably a civil issue, so starting with law enforcement isn't a great option, even if they had the inclination and bandwidth to help out in a timely fashion. -----Original Message----- From: benny@nordreg.se [mailto:benny@nordreg.se] Sent: Friday, February 17, 2017 9:41 AM To: Mark Svancarek <marksv@microsoft.com> Cc: RDS PDP WG <gnso-rds-pdp-wg@icann.org> Subject: Re: [gnso-rds-pdp-wg] Dangers of public whois Let us take a simple example A phone number can you as the one it's registered on choose by yourself if it shall be published in the phone book, if you give the number to someone it's your choice as an individual! If the police want your number they will get without to much effort. So why on earth are we forcing registrants to give up this right to choose to whom they share that info? Forget what Whois are as we know it and come up with ideas how we can make a new system which takes reasonable interest of all sides here. The Status Quo hammering are not productive at all. RDS are meant to make change to the better! Sent from my iPhone
On 17 Feb 2017, at 18:28, Mark Svancarek <marksv@microsoft.com> wrote:
Spam and DDOS will always be with us, and the need to mitigate them does not eliminate the need to have public data. It seems orthogonal to me.
-----Original Message----- From: gnso-rds-pdp-wg-bounces@icann.org [mailto:gnso-rds-pdp-wg-bounces@icann.org] On Behalf Of benny@nordreg.se Sent: Friday, February 17, 2017 8:25 AM To: RDS PDP WG <gnso-rds-pdp-wg@icann.org> Subject: Re: [gnso-rds-pdp-wg] Dangers of public whois
Another post about the problems with public whois
How anyone here can still defend this abuse of info as a the best system I have serious problems understanding.
http://domainnamewire.com/2017/02/16/control-block-sms-spam-robocallin g-based-whois-info/
-- Med vänliga hälsningar / Kind Regards / Med vennlig hilsen
Benny Samuelsen Registry Manager - Domainexpert
Nordreg AB - ICANN accredited registrar IANA-ID: 638 Phone: +46.42197080 Direct: +47.32260201 Mobile: +47.40410200
On 17 Feb 2017, at 14:55, Michele Neylon - Blacknight <michele@blacknight.com> wrote:
Allison
As others have said, if you have an issue please report it to ICANN, law enforcement, consumer protection etc., Some of us take our obligations very seriously and lumping all registrars and providers into one big bucket isn't very helpful for constructive dialogue. We get a number of whois complaints from ICANN every year and we investigate each and every one of them. In some cases it's very obvious that the details provided are bogus, but in others it's not and we have to spend time energy and effort going back and forth with our client and ICANN to resolve it. Sometimes this leads to domains being suspended or deleted, sometimes the whois gets updated, sometimes the complaint is denied. But each complaint is handled on its merits.
We also have a whois privacy service. It is NOT a fake address. You can check it in the Irish company office: https://search.cro.ie/company/CompanyDetails.aspx?id=480317&type=C
Now you may not like that people and organisations choose to obfuscate their contact details via services like that one, but that's a different issue entirely. I also personally have correspondence addresses in the US, mainland UK and a couple in Northern Ireland. I don't live at any of them, but you can send me physical mail and I will get it. You could argue that the address is "fake", but as I can get mail to it I'd suspect that in many cases it'd be considered valid.
Regards
Michele
-- Mr Michele Neylon Blacknight Solutions Hosting, Colocation & Domains https://www.blacknight.com/ http://blacknight.blog/ Intl. +353 (0) 59 9183072 Direct Dial: +353 (0)59 9183090 Personal blog: https://michele.blog/ Some thoughts: https://ceo.hosting/ ------------------------------- Blacknight Internet Solutions Ltd, Unit 12A,Barrowside Business Park,Sleaty Road,Graiguecullen,Carlow,R93 X265,Ireland Company No.: 370845 _______________________________________________ gnso-rds-pdp-wg mailing list gnso-rds-pdp-wg@icann.org https://mm.icann.org/mailman/listinfo/gnso-rds-pdp-wg
_______________________________________________ gnso-rds-pdp-wg mailing list gnso-rds-pdp-wg@icann.org https://mm.icann.org/mailman/listinfo/gnso-rds-pdp-wg